Have you ever tried to send a text message and see that your recipient can’t receive it? That’s because they might be on a different cell carrier. In order to send messages to someone using a different carrier, you would need to add their number as a contact. This is called adding an alias in Apple’s messaging system. If someone has blocked you by adding an alias, then they won’t receive any messages from you.
In this article, we will learn how to determine if someone has added an alias and what we can do if they have done so.
Can You See Blocked Messages on Your iPhone?
Blocked messages on your iPhone are not like blocked messages in Gmail or Facebook. When you add an alias to someone, they will still receive your messages. However, they will not be able to reply to you.
Why Do People Add Aliases?
1. Some people might have a very bad habit of sending messages to the wrong person. They might accidentally send an email or text message to the wrong person and wish that they could remove it from their iPhone.
2. Some people might want to be anonymous when they are texting. They may not want their boss, parents, or spouse to know how often they text their friends or what they say in their texts.
3. Some people are just plain rude and don’t think before they send a message. If you have ever sent an angry text message or email, then you know how frustrating it can be when you can’t get a reply from someone back after sending a message. If someone has added an alias to your iPhone, then you won’t be able to get them back on your side by sending another angry text message or email (even though you will still receive messages).
How Can You Tell If Someone Has Added An Alias?
1. If you cannot send a message to someone and they are not listed as a contact, then you can assume that they have added an alias.
2. If you cannot receive messages from someone and they are not listed as a contact, then you can assume that they have added an alias.
3. If you cannot add an alias to someone and the person is listed as a contact, then the person has most likely added alias for privacy reasons or for their own convenience.
4. You can also use this tip to find out if your friend has been unfriended on Facebook or if your ex-boyfriend/girlfriend has blocked your number on their iPhone (if you were together).
What Do You Need To Know About Aliases And Blocked Messages?
1. If you have accidentally added an alias to someone or they have accidentally added an alias to you, then you need to contact them and ask them to remove the alias.
2. If someone has listed you as an alias, then you can use this tip to find out who has blocked their number on their iPhone.
3. If someone has listed you as an alias and they cannot get a reply from you, then it is a good idea for them to ask for your permission before adding your number to their block list on their iPhone.
4. If someone’s phone number is listed as an alias, then that means that they are not getting any messages from anyone and will not be able to get any messages from anyone either unless they remove the alias from their phone number in settings and add it back again (which will also show in settings).
5. You should always be polite when asking people if they want to add aliases to your contact list because there are some people who might not want others knowing that they are using aliases because of privacy reasons or other reasons too (like being rude). I would suggest asking these people politely rather than trying to force them into giving permission by adding one back onto your contact list (if they really wanted it).
6. You should delete all of your aliases once in a while because some of these people might have deleted theirs without telling anyone else first (they might not have been expecting anyone else besides themselves to find out about the aliases).
7. If you are not sure who has added you as an alias, then you can add them to your block list on your iPhone. You should do this for everyone who has added you as an alias because if someone is rude enough to add you as an alias, then they might be rude enough to block/unblock you too.
8. If someone is contacted and they have listed another person as their contact without telling that person first, then I would suggest letting the other person know about this so they can ask the first person to remove their name from their contact list before adding any more aliases onto the contact list of the second person (if they really wanted).
9. If someone adds another person as an alias without telling them first, I would suggest not getting angry about it because that just makes things worse for everyone involved (like saying something like “why did you do that?” when the other person isn’t even aware of what happened).
10. You should always be polite when asking people if they want to add aliases onto your contact list because there are some people who might not want others knowing that they are using aliases because of privacy reasons or other reasons too (like being rude). I would suggest asking these people politely rather than trying to force them into giving permission by adding one back onto your contact list (if they really wanted it).
How To Unblock A Contact That Has Blocked you
To unblock a contact that has blocked you, follow these steps:
1. Open Messages on your iPhone and tap on the conversation with the person you want to unblock.
2. Tap on “More” in the upper-right corner of the screen.
3. then tap on “Blocked.” You will see a list of all contacts from people who have blocked you.
4. Select the alias that is blocking you and then tap “Unblock.” It should be possible for messages to go through after this step has been taken.
5. Keep in mind that once someone has blocked you, they will not receive any messages from you again even if they unblock themselves.
If your contact still hasn’t responded within 24 hours, then it might not be possible to send them a message after all.
Contacts who have blocked you will not be able to send you a message or receive any messages from you, even if they unblock themselves. If your contact has blocked you, then it is best for them to unblock themselves so that they can send and receive messages from you again.
Q: Why does my contact still have the same alias on my iPhone after they blocked me?
A: It is likely that they didn’t delete their alias from their contact list by mistake. If this is the case, then you can send them a message to ask them to delete their alias or unblock themselves.
Q: How do I unblock myself?
A: Follow Steps 1-3 above to unblock yourself.
Q: Can I send and receive messages through an alias?
A: Yes, you can. This means that you can chat with people who are using aliases but who have blocked you too (if they have blocked you). You will not be able to see their profile pictures in Messages, however.
Q: Is it okay for me to use an alias if I want to know what other people are saying about me?
A: No, it is not okay for you to do this because it is dishonest and disrespectful towards others who might actually want to hide their true identity from everyone else because of privacy reasons or other reasons too (like being rude).